top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGemila

Why didn't we listen to Wendy?

Updated: Jul 14, 2019


Peter pan, a Disney movie that we all watched and loved when we was little. It's only when we look back we understand how right it was all along. I haven't been a full member of "adulthood" for long, 3 months to be exact. I can tell you one thing: I hate it. Life was easier when summer was spent stressing over what school shoes I am going to have next term! I'm faced with all of these big decisions this summer, and ones that will ultimately shape the rest of my life. GULP. 2 months ago I was asking for permission to the toilet but look at me now. Flipping a coin trying to decide if I would rather go to university or get a job. I've been trying to create pro and con lists of the both but they both equal out the same. Everyone I speak to tells me to "go with whatever you think is best" well thanks for the help but what if you have no idea what is best. All I know is I want to be great, but how do I become great?



 

I don't want to go to university, to be perfectly honest I never have wanted to. It felt like the right thing to do, after lots and lots of deliberation. My teachers told me I would do well and enjoy it but the thought of more education makes me feel sick. All that debt, all the years spent working towards something I am not interested in, why would I do it to myself? However, I want to get a career in Publishing or Journalism which needs a degree, its so competitive. Without going to uni, I'd be shooting myself in the foot because these careers would be near impossible to achieve.

 

I want to get an apprenticeship, it sounds practical to me. Learning and working. Learning and earning. The problem is apprenticeships in publishing are non-existent and in journalism are extremely difficult to find, and when you do find them they are SUPER competitive. So do I go for something else, completely different, like a paralegal apprenticeship or management, or events, or PR. All these questions and I have no answer at all.


I'm beyond stressed and I long for the days when life was easier. Not exactly how I planned my fantastic last ever summer holiday.


Gem xoxo

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page